EU Parliament picks new president

Italian Senator Antonio Tajani won 351 out of 633 votes in the final round of voting in Strasbourg, France, to become president of the European Parliament.

In the previous three rounds, Mr. Tajani won a plurality but not a majority of the votes.

EP President-elect Tajani is a member of the European People's Party, the Parliament's largest political group. He was born on August 4th, 1953, in Rome. He helped found Berlusconi's party, Forza Italia, and was elected to the European parliament in 1994. During the 2008-2014 period, he served as Commissioner for Industry and Entrepreneurship and as one of the five EU Vice Presidents. He became the first Vice President of the European Parliament in 2014.

Source: VOV5