Russia, France agree to maintain Iran nuclear deal

Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov and his French counterpart, Jean-Yves Le Drian, discussed over the phone on Tuesday specific steps aimed at preserving the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA), the Russian Foreign Ministry reported. The agreement on the Iranian nuclear program was signed in 2015 by Iran and the P5+1: China, France, Russia, the UK, and the US, plus Germany.

Secretary General of the European External Action Service Helga Schmid said the same day that representatives from the UK, France, Germany, Russia, and China will meet with Iran this Sunday in Austria to discuss measures to save the deal.

Source: VOV5