UK, Norway, Iceland agrees on citizens’ rights if no-deal Brexit

Britain and the so-called EEA EFTA countries, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, have reached an agreement on citizens' rights should Britain leave the EU without a withdrawal agreement, Iceland's government said on Friday.

The agreement protects the rights of EEA EFTA citizens living in the UK and British citizens living in the EEA EFTA states, providing certainty that they can continue to do so in the event of a no-deal Brexit, the Icelandic government said in a statement.

Norway's government said earlier on Friday that it had proposed legislation to secure the rights of Norwegians living in Britain and of Britons living in Norway in the case of a no-deal Brexit. Norway's Justice Minister Tor Mikkel Wara hoped that Britain will have an orderly exit from the European Union. However Norway should be prepared for Britain choosing to leave the EU without a deal.

Source: VOV5