Canada ratifies CPTPP

Canada's International Trade Diversification Minister Jim Carr met Monday with New Zealand High Commissioner Daniel Mellsop to officially ratify the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP).

New Zealand is in charge of monitoring and documenting the pact. The CPTPP has 11 members: Australia, Japan, Malaysia, Vietnam, Singapore, Brunei, New Zealand, Canada, Mexico, Peru, and Chile. Canada will be one of the first countries to benefit from the agreement when it takes effect.

Canada's ratification of the agreement is considered an important step towards trade diversification. The CPTPP is a strong call to fight growing against protectionism around the world.

Source: VOV5