Ukraine establishes military air zone in separatist-held territories

Ukrainian President Petro Poroshenko has established a new military air zone in the separatist-held territories of Donetsk and Lugansk.

The new air zone, called East, runs along the edge of the Sea of Azov, 12 nautical miles wide, to the closest point of Ukraine/Russia border. The Ministry of Internal Affairs ordered the State Border Guard Service to start controlling the uncontrolled air zone over Donetsk and Lugansk in 2017.

Donetsk and Lugansk proclaimed their independence as the People's Republic in 2014 when clashes between rebels and government forces erupted. Violence has killed 10,000 people there and driven hundreds of thousands more from their homes.

Source: VOV5